ANTANANARIVO, Jan. 17 (Xinhua) — Madagascar’s special electoral court announced here Friday that Hery Rajaonarimampianina was elected president of Madagascar.

The court’s president Rakotozafy Franois announced the result at a ceremony attended by chiefs of institutions, government officials, diplomatic corps, and Hery Rajaonarimampianina.

The newly elected president won 53.49 percent of the votes during the run-off presidential election while Jean Louis Robinson had 46.51 percent.

“The president of the fourth republic is elected. The victory of all Malagasy people, the victory of the democracy was announced today,” Rajaonarimampianina told journalists right after the ceremony.

The president of the High Constitutional Court (HCC) Rajaonarivony Jean Michel told Xinhua at the spot that the next step is the investiture of the elected president before the parliament, the government and the Supreme Court conforming to the constitution at least a week later.

According to the law the transitional president Andry Rajoelina will continue his work until the investiture of the incoming president, Michel said.

Hery Rajaonarimampianina, 55, is the eighth elected Malagasy president and eleventh chief of state since Madagascar’s independence in 1960.